Professional Training and Examination Refund Scheme (Maritime)

Introduction

To incentivize those interested to join, as well as already working in, the maritime and aviation sectors, including local vessel seafarers, to attend course(s) and sit for examination(s) that are being offered by various education institutions, professional or trade bodies to raise their professionalism and competency, and encourage them to acquire relevant professional qualification(s), the Government has launched the Professional Training and Examination Refund Scheme (“the Scheme”) under MATF to support the manpower training of the maritime and aviation industries. With effect from 1 September 2021, each successful applicant will be refunded 80% of the fees, subject to a maximum of HK$30,000,Note for the pre-approved courses/examinations. Besides, apart from the in-service practitioners of maritime sector, those who newly enter the industry after completion of the courses / passing the examinations are also eligible for making the refund application for the fees of concerned courses/examinations. Applications must be made by individuals. Applications from company/organisation will not be accepted.

Note: The above measures have no retrospective effect. The subsidy ceiling of HK$30,000 would apply on an ad personam basis. Refund claim applications submitted before 1 September 2021 would be processed in accordance with the requirements stipulated before the said date, i.e. refund 80% of the course/examination fees with subsidy ceiling of HK$18,000.

Target

Eligibility

Deadline for Application

Please submit the application within 4 months after completion of the course(s) / passing the examination(s).

Application Procedures

Applicants should complete and submit the (i) the original of the application form and (ii) copies of the required documents by post to the MATF, Transport and Logistics Bureau at 20/F, East Wing, Central Government Offices, 2 Tim Mei Avenue, Hong Kong; or by email to matf@tlb.gov.hk. For effective and timely delivery of the mail items, please ensure sufficient postage before posting. Late application will not be accepted.

Application Documents

List of the pre-approved maritime-related courses/examinations
Notes for Applicants and Application Form (for maritime sector)
Sample of Certification of Employment

Notes for Course Providers / Examination Authorities

Course providers / examination authorities shall complete the application form and send it together with a copy of the required document(s) to matf@tlb.gov.hk to apply for their courses / examinations to be put on the list of pre-approved courses / examinations under ProTERS. Please make reference to the Explanatory Notes to the Assessment Criteria when preparing the application.

Should there be any change(s) to the information on the list of pre-approved maritime-related courses / examinations, please inform the MATF by email in advance. Otherwise, the processing time of refund applications from students may be affected.

Application Form for maritime-related course providers / examination authorities
Explanatory Notes to the Assessment Criteria of maritime-related courses / examinations

Enquiries

Email: matf@tlb.gov.hk
Hotline: 3509 7261

專業培訓課程及考試費用發還計劃 (海運)

簡介

為鼓勵有志投身海運和航空業的人士和現職人士,包括本地船舶船員,修讀由各院校、專業或業界團體提供的課程和參加專業考試,以提升技能及獲得專業資格。政府在「海運及空運人才培訓基金」下設立「專業培訓課程及考試費用發還計劃」(「計劃」),加強支持海運和航空業界的人才培訓。計劃下的成功申請人在完成經核准的課程或通過相關專業考試後,可獲發還80%的費用。由2021年9月1日起,每名成功申請人可獲發還有關經核准課程/考試費用的80%,上限為30,000港元。此外,除海運業現職人士外,完成課程或通過考試後新入職的人士也可就相關課程或考試的費用提出發還款項申請。申請必須以個人名義提出,計劃不接受公司/團體的申請。

註:上述措施不具追溯力。資助額上限30,000港元適用於每名申請人。於2021年9月1日前遞交的發還款項申請,將會根據該日前所訂的規定處理,即發還課程或考試費用的80%及資助額上限為18,000港元。

對象

申請資格

申請期限

於完成課程/通過考試後4個月內遞交申請。

申請手續

請填妥 (i) 申請書正本 連同 (ii) 所需文件的副本,郵寄香港添美道2號政府總部東翼20樓運輸及物流局海運及空運人才培訓基金電郵matf@tlb.gov.hk。為確保郵件準時送達,請確保郵件附上足夠郵資,逾時的申請將不獲受理。

申請文件

與海運業有關的經核准課程/考試名單
計劃(海運業)的申請人須知及申請書
在職證明文件範本

舉辦課程/考試機構須知

舉辦課程/考試機構須填妥申請表及連同所須文件的副本,並電郵至 matf@tlb.gov.hk,以向基金申請把其課程/考試納入本計劃的經核准課程/考試名單上。在準備申請時,請先參閱評審準則說明。

如經核准的課程/考試名單內的資料有任何更新,請舉辦課程/考試機構在作出更新前以電郵方式通知本基金,否則有機會影響學生申請費用發還的審批時間。

供海運業課程/考試機構使用的申請表(只有英文)
與海運相關課程/考試的評審準則說明

查詢

電郵: matf@tlb.gov.hk
熱線: 3509 7261