New chairman and member appointed to Transport Advisory Committee

The Government announced today (September 22) that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Rimsky Yuen Kwok-keung as Chairman of the Transport Advisory Committee (TAC) for two years with effect from October 1, 2010. Mr Yuen will replace Ms Teresa Cheng, who has served as the Chairman of the TAC for six years. The Chief Executive has also appointed Ms Lily Chow to the TAC for a period of two years from the same date. The appointments will be published in the Gazette on September 24, 2010.

In announcing the Chief Executive's decision, a spokesman for the Transport and Housing Bureau said, "we thank Ms Cheng for her dedication and contribution to the TAC. Under her sterling leadership, the TAC has dealt with many important and challenging transport issues in the past six years.

"We are confident that under Mr Yuen's leadership, the TAC will continue to tender valuable and impartial advice on transport issues to the Government. We look forward to working with Mr Yuen and Ms Chow in the future," said the spokesman.

The TAC is a key advisory body to the Government on broad issues of transport policy and major transport-related proposals. Currently, the TAC comprises 14 non-official members including the Chairman and three ex-officio members.

Ends/Wednesday, September 22, 2010 Issued at HKT 15:30