INTRODUCTION

The Transport Advisory Committee (TAC) was established in December 1965. As a non-statutory body appointed by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, it is responsible for advising the Chief Executive-in-Council on transport matters in accordance with the following principles –



Photo provided by Information Services Department

- 1. The TAC's function is to advise the Chief Executive-in-Council on broad issues of transport policy with a view to improving the movement of both people and freight.
- 2. On any matter within its terms of reference, the TAC is free to communicate with members of the public and with any organisation.
- 3. The TAC may consider financial matters where they directly relate to transport, but the responsibility for proposing public expenditure and taxation lies solely with the Administration.
- 4. Secretary for Transport and Housing will provide a secretariat for the TAC and will be responsible for administration in connection with it.
- 5. The TAC will be free to form sub-committees, to participate in joint-committees with other bodies, and to co-opt members for specific purposes. It may organise its work in whatever manner it considers most suitable.
- 6. The Chief Secretary for Administration may, after consultation with the TAC and the Chief Executive-in-Council, amend the terms of reference from time to time.

At present, the TAC comprises 15 non-official and 3 ex-officio members. The non-official members are appointed in their personal capacity. They come from a wide-ranging background, including academic, business, education, financial, legal and social services fields and have no direct vested interest in the transport sector. Advice tendered by the TAC is frank and impartial, balancing the interests of all parties.

The TAC usually meets once a month to examine major transport issues. While the Administration will submit major transport-related proposals to the TAC for its deliberation, TAC members also initiate subjects of public concern for discussion at the TAC meetings.

Matters discussed at the TAC meetings include major road projects, operations of public transport services, road safety-related measures and fare/toll adjustment proposals. It has been an established arrangement for the TAC Chairman to meet and brief the media after each meeting to keep the public abreast of the TAC's discussions. The TAC also provides its detailed advice on complex issues in writing to the Administration. The advice tendered by the TAC will be published after the final decisions have been taken.

The membership of the TAC is as follows: -

Ms	Teresa Cheng Yeuk-wah, BBS, SC, JP (Chairman)	

Mr Leung On-fook, JP (until 31 March 2006)

Mr Yeung Ka-sing, SBS, JP (until 31 March 2006)

Mr Eric Cheng Kam-chung, MH, JP (until 30 September 2007)

Dr Eric Tsang Po-keung (until 30 September 2007)

Mr Paul Chan Mo-po, MH, JP (until 31 December 2007)

Mr Ip Kwok-him, GBS, JP (until 31 December 2008)

(until 31 December 2008)

Prof Jim Chi-yung, JP

Mr Cheung Wai-leung, MBE

Mr Robert Chui Chi-yun

Mr Junius Ho Kwan-yiu

Mr Vincent Kwan Wing-shing

Mr James Kwan Yuk-choi, JP

Ms Lilian Law Suk-kwan

Mrs Laura Ling Lau Yuet-fun, BBS, MH

Mr Charles Peter Mok

Mr Jimmy Poon Wing-fai

Ms Iris Tam Siu-ying, JP

Prof Wong Sze-chun

Dr David Wong Yau-kar

Mr Stephen Yip Moon-wah, JP

Dr Ng Cho-nam, BBS

Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Transport) or

his representative (ex-officio)

Commissioner for Transport (ex-officio)

Commissioner of Police or his representative (ex-officio)

At present, three sub-committees are set up under the TAC, viz the Transport Complaint Unit (TCU) Sub-Committee, the Public Transport Services Sub-Committee and the Road Safety and Traffic Management Sub-Committee.



Public Transport Services Sub-committee

Prof Jim Chi-yung, JP (Chairman) (until 31 December 2008)

Mr Paul Chan Mo-po, MH, JP (until 31 December 2007)

Mr Yeung Ka-sing, SBS, JP (Chairman) (until 31 March 2006)

Mr Vincent Kwan Wing-shing

Prof Wong Sze-chun

Ms

Road Safety and Traffic Management Sub-Committee

Lilian Law Suk-kwan (Chairman)

Mr Paul Chan Mo-po, MH, JP (Chairman) (until 31 December 2007)

Mr Eric Cheng Kam-chung, MH, JP (until 30 September 2007)

Mr Leung On-fook, JP (until 31 March 2006)

Dr Eric Tsang Po-keung (until 30 September 2007)

Prof Wong Sze-chun

Mrs Laura Ling Lau Yuet-fun, BBS, MH

Mr Charles Peter Mok

Dr David Wong Yau-kar

Mr Robert Chui Chi-yun

Transport Complaint Unit Sub-Committee

Prof Wong Sze-chun (Chairman)

Mr Leung On-fook, JP (until 31 March 2006)

Mr Eric Cheng Kam-chung, MH, JP (Chairman) (until 30 September 2007)

Dr Eric Tsang Po-keung (until 30 September 2007)

Ms Lilian Law Suk-kwan

Mr Jimmy Poon Wing-fai

Mrs Laura Ling Lau Yuet-fun, BBS, MH

Mr Robert Chui Chi-yun

Members of Transport Advisory Committee



Upper from left :

Ms Shirley Chu, Mr Jimmy Poon, Mr Junius Ho, Mr Cheung Wai-leung, Mr Vincent Kwan, Mr Charles Mok, Mr Ip Kwok-him, Mr James Kwan, Dr David Wong, Mr Robert Chui, Ms Estrella Cheung (Secretary)

Lower from left:

Mrs Laura Ling, Prof Jim Chi-yung, Mr Francis Ho, Ms Teresa Cheng (Chairman), Mr Alan Wong, Prof Wong Sze-chun, Ms Lilian Law

Transport Complaints Unit

The Transport Complaints Unit (TCU) was established under the TAC in 1980 to receive and handle complaints and suggestions from the public on transport matters. Upon receipt of a complaint or a suggestion, the TCU would contact the relevant government department or transport service operator direct to ensure that it is processed expeditiously. The TCU will closely monitor the follow-up actions taken by the responsible parties and will reply to the complainants promptly. In addition, the TCU prepares quarterly and annual reports, which are also published for public information. The data collected also provides part of the basis for review of other transport-related issues.